Skip to content

Hadley Begins with a Horse of a Different Color!

May 16, 2011

Thanks for participating in Day 2 of Mary Alice Hadley trivia on Facebook…part of our month-long celebration of Mary Alice’s 100th birthday!

Those of you who have read our blog in the past know that Blue Horse was one of the first four patterns to launch the Hadley brand (the other three being Clipper, Whale, and Pear and Grape), and quickly became the premier introductory pattern.

Today, although there are dozens of scenes available in the Hadley Collection, Blue Horse continues to be among the most popular. The top-selling item in Blue Horse? The soap dispenser!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Lydia Bond permalink
    May 16, 2011 6:56 pm

    Isn’t that the “Horse” scene from the ‘Country” pattern rather than the “Blue Horse” pattern?

  2. Karen Coup permalink
    May 16, 2011 10:21 pm

    You have shown the horse from the Country pattern NOT the rearing Blue Horse which has no colors except shades of blue and the tan-grey background color! I bought my first piece of BLUE HORSE in 1968 and have used it daily since 1973 — please change the example!!!!

    (And my email address needs the number 0 two times which for some reason won’t work on this site! I used capital letter O but I bet that won’t work for the email address.)

    • May 17, 2011 6:39 am

      Thanks, Karen, great catch! I guess I was in a hurry when inserting the photo, saw “horse” in my list of files and pushed the “insert” button too fast. I will correct the error right now. Thanks so much for reading!

  3. Rosemary Gillum Bailey, formerly Lou. Mag., Auto Club AAA,Derby Festivals, Frankfort PR lady. permalink
    January 27, 2014 9:32 am

    What a delight, to browse your lovely site! Hadley has been much of my homestyle and artistic life. A small-town mayor gave me FOUR place settings as a wedding gift. My ex didn’t care for pottery, so I was forced to leave it when we traveled in the military. *** I first met M.A. at St. James Ct., touring her lovely garden with mirrors. Then, I helped sell her coasters for 60 cents, to support the Court fountain during first St Jas. Ct. Art show, where I exhibited. Later, on a tour of her Story home, I viewed large paintings by M.A. and envied, then copied her tall rack of spices, still a joy in retirement. A dear friend left me his 5″ Bouquet cat bowl and I enjoy it, after losing my fine feline, for daily cereal or snacks. So, I’m looking to have my Derby City sons browse for small plates to add to my former-Louisville- girl collection. Memories and love to those talented potters and a bow to the spirited lady, Mary Alice. R.

    • January 27, 2014 10:06 am

      Rosemary, wow! Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful memories of Mary Alice Hadley. Best to you and thank you for your support of Hadley Pottery!

Leave a Reply

