Skip to content

Hadley Across America

June 28, 2010

This segment will feature interesting travel tips for areas across the country where Hadley fans live, vacation, and shop!

19 Comments leave one →
  1. Sue Jackson permalink
    July 21, 2010 9:38 pm

    Mary Hadley dishes have been in my family for 3 generations. At 43 I am proud to still collect- and astonished that there is a newly discovered retailer in Texas!

    • maureen MacCallum permalink
      December 2, 2010 7:50 pm

      I received a bowl as a Wedding gift, never heard of Hadley Pottery in the past. Now I am thinking of collecting some seems very happy

  2. elaine.hadley permalink
    July 28, 2010 2:20 pm

    Hi Sue–who did you just discover in Texas?
    ~elaine…hadley

  3. Isabelle Little permalink
    August 4, 2010 9:12 pm

    MA Hadley has been in my Family for 3 generations and I am 46 and have lots of hadley and look for it all the time. Would love a lamp. But can’t find… Was at Little Traveler in Galena, Il. and saw the cross I just love it. Do you have many different products at the factory. My Husband and I love to find a new piece. I have a piece that my Grandmothers best friend gave me when she pasted a large oval platter with the wife and farmer on it . I always wonder how old of a piece it is,is there a way I could find out by the signature on the back.. I must have over 200 pieces and still love it everyday… My daughter said mom can I have it when I get married.. Of Course it is always a great place setting on a table and a conversation. Thanks

    • August 6, 2010 12:48 pm

      I love hearing about that Hadley is multi generational in your family!! That is so sweet and it means so much when family memories come into play when you do simple things together–like have a bowl of cereal or drink from a mug with a little message written in the bottom. And I agree, Hadley makes a beautiful statement on the table. I am excited that your daughter wants to carry on the tradition and continue the good feelings and warmth the Pottery evokes–(if only we could bottle that feeling!!) If you send a photo or post it on the blog, we can often determine roughly how old the piece is.
      Regarding a Hadley lamp base, Little Traveler in Geneva IL can order it for you or you can call the Louisville Factory.
      thanks so much for sharing —
      ~elaine…hadley

  4. Betsy permalink
    October 14, 2010 4:31 pm

    I’m a second generation Hadley lover. Almost 15 years ago my mom and I drove my three small kids (all under 5) to Kentucky for a family reunion. We drove through Louisville so we could shop at the factory and bring dishes home. What we bought that day traveled about 1500 miles back to North Dakota. Mine has traveled another 2500 miles and graces my dinner table in North Pole, Alaska every day. One of these days I’ll get back to Louisville!

    • November 3, 2010 4:54 pm

      Wow! I love that story…thought we had heard it all, but the North Pole is a new boundary for Hadley, I believe! What pattern(s) do you collect, Betsy?

  5. maureen MacCallum permalink
    December 2, 2010 7:57 pm

    We received our first piece of Hadley Pottery for a Wedding Gift.It was the Beach scene, Lighthouse and loved it. I had never heard of Hadley pottery , so I went and looked it up, and was thrilled to find more pieces.I feel happy when I look at this large bowl. I want to start collect more pieces to enjoy. I would love to mix and match.I colnt decide on a pattern so my husband said get one of each!

    • December 2, 2010 9:10 pm

      First of all, what a great husband!!! Seriously, thanks for sharing your Hadley experience; we hear so many wonderful stories and sentiments like yours, it really reinforces what a wonderful artisan Mary Alice Hadley was to have created something with such warmth and feeling! Keep us posted as you build your collection with us.

  6. August 30, 2011 6:16 pm

    Hello. I am 47 years old. My mom has been buying/collecting Hadley stuff since the 70s. She started with the Bouquet and then the Blue Horse pattern. I grew up on a horse farm in Indiana and used to show horses. I now live in Dublin, GA. I have acquired 4 strong boxes of the Blue Horse pattern Hadley and a few pieces of the Bouquet. Somehow, a few pieces of Louisville Stoneware got in there too. With all the Blue Horse I have, I could open a little store. My parents should have bought stock in MA Hadley. If they heard of my mother’s name, even to this day, they would prob remember her and my dad too. Some of the pieces I have, are not even on the website. I have a beautiful, 3D type Blue Horse head..Prob specially made for my family and a Piggy Bank, prob bigger than the largest one on the website and some other stuff. I love Hadley and always will. I live in an historic home and it will look beautiful in the kitchen. Thank you MA Hadley for developing my love for your products in my pre- teen years. Elizabeth

  7. Sally Moore permalink
    September 17, 2011 10:03 pm

    I wonder if what I have is the Bouquet pattern. It was my mother’s circa 1947, given to her by friends when she left Houston, TX for MS. It has a blue edge, soft rose color with a free form pattern…possibly grapes or a pear. No two pieces are alike and some are very dissimilar. I have dinner plates and serving pieces. My siblilngs got the coffee mugs and cereal bowls. Sally

  8. Tracy Wagstaff permalink
    November 13, 2011 9:51 pm

    I have a lovely set of about 12″ high cone shaped harp holding angel candlesticks, signed with M. A. Hadley on the underside. Since the late 40’s/early 50’s, they have been placed every Christmas on my mother’s buffet, and now in my home as when she passed on 15 years ago, they became mine. Not at all like what appears to be the more “signature” blue as in the huge line of great M.A. Hadley classic and later stoneware, I am thinking this set may be earlier and such as they are so unique and
    different.

    I would love to submit a photo and have any information relayed so I can know more and I
    thank you!

    Tracy Wagstaff

    • November 15, 2011 11:03 am

      Hi, Tracy. I sent you an email on this as well, but for you and all of our readers, you can send photos of your Hadley piece(s) to discoveringhadley@yahoo.com and we will take a look and let you know what you have. Thanks!

  9. Michelle Michel permalink
    November 15, 2011 8:18 am

    How can I find a discontinued item in a pattern? I have the Country Home collection and one of our salad plates just broke in two. It has a duck on it. The duck is our youngest son’s favorite and he won’t eat on anything else!

    • November 15, 2011 11:00 am

      Michelle, you can call the factory in Louisville to order the Duck item. The number is 1-866-584-2171. The duck pattern will be listed on the website in the new year, if not sooner!

  10. January 10, 2012 2:34 pm

    I am trying to find a mug. It shows “Outdoor Life” on the bottom of the mug. The mug is a dark green color with a picture of a charging moose on both the front and back. It also shows on the bottom of the mug “The Hadley Collection. On the bottom of the mug, it also shows logo of Fields&Steam and Outdoor Life are registered Trademarks of Times Mirror magazine, Inc.and under license by The Hadley Companies 2000.. I am trying to replace 3 of these mugs. Mugs are 4” in diameter and they are 4 1/2 in tall. Heavy ceramic in dark green. I have a tin poster like this and one mug. I would like to know if they are still in production and the cost to replace 3 of the mugs. Thank you in advance.

  11. September 12, 2012 10:53 pm

    i have a brown /black /white quail withe m.a. hadley printed on the bottom jusr carved into the green pottery and i need to know if this is an authentic signature and is this highly copied and counterfeited.?

Leave a Reply

